Twirl Planet header image 2

Twirling Champion Karrissa Wimberley a Finalist for the AAU Sullivan Award

March 14th, 2011 · 3 Comments · Baton Twirlers In The News

For the very first time, a baton twirler is in the running for the prestigious AAU Sullivan Memorial Award. Ultra-talented, world champion Karrissa Wimberley was nominated as one of the 15 semi-finalists. She was then voted as a top 5 finalists. The 81st AAU Sullivan Award winner will be announced this evening at a ceremony at the New York Athletic Club in New York City. This historic award is presented annually by the Amateur Athletic Union and is truly an honor.

Karrissa Wimberley, AAU Sullivan Award Finalist

Karrissa is in outstanding company. The other finalists include Olympic gold medal figure skater Evan Lysacek, as well as top athletes representing basketball, football, and water skiing. This AAU award acknowledges exceptional athletic abilities and successes as well as evidence of outstanding leadership and sportsmanship. Past Sullivan Award winners have included gymnast Shawn Johnson, swimmer Michael Phelps, and figure skater Michelle Kwan.

Karrissa is well known in the baton twirling community and has provided a source of inspiration for years. Her laurels include a total of 15 World Championship titles. She has won top honors in United States Twirling Association, National Baton Twirling Association, and World Baton Twirling Federation competitions. She is a graduate of the University of Florida where she was a feature twirler. She is now a graduate student at the University of Georgia at Athens and is studying Math and Social Studies Education.

The baton twirling community is extremely proud of Karrissa’s accomplishments and especially this very recent honor. She is a wonderful representative of the sport of baton twirling!

Tags: ········

3 Comments so far ↓

Leave a Comment